IPL 2022 winner list | Sports Current Affairs

Sharing is caring!

Rate this post

IPL 2022 winner list: For any competitive exams like Banking, Rail, RRB NTPC, or SSC, current affairs is an important section. Recently IPL 2022 was ended. Here is a brief note on Indian Premier League 2022. Gujarat Titans won the 15th  edition of the Indian Premier League.

Check out all the Sports Current Affairs for competitive exams

2022 Indian Premier League

• Gujarat Titan beat Rajasthan Royals by 6 wickets to win their first IPL title.

• Edition ✍ 15 (IPL 15)
• Administrator(s) ✍ Board of Control for Cricket in India (BCCI)
• Cricket format ✍ Twenty20
• Host ✍ India
• Champions ✍ Gujarat Titans (1st title)
• Runners-up ✍ Rajasthan Royals
• Participants ✍ 10 team
• Total Matches in IPL 15✍ 74
• Official sponsor✍  Tata Group 

• The league was founded by the Board of Control for Cricket in India (BCCI) in 2007.

Venues of IPL 2022, 15th edition

• IPL 2022 is slated to be played across 6 different venues across the nation.
• The league matches will be played at three venues in Mumbai and one in Pune.

• The qualifier 2 and the final match were held at the Narendra Modi Stadium in Ahmedabad.
• The qualifier 1 and eliminator match was played at Eden Gardens, Kolkata.

• List of venues of IPL 15
1. Wankhede Stadium, Mumbai (20 matches)
2. DY Patil Stadium, Navi Mumbai (20 matches)
3.  Brabourne Stadium, Mumbai (15 matches)
4.  MCA International Stadium, Pune(15 matches)
5. Narendra Modi Stadium, Ahmedabad (2 matches)
6. Eden Gardens, Kolkata (2 matches)

• Each team was scheduled to play four matches at Wankhede Stadium and DY Patil Stadium and three matches each at Brabourne Stadium and MCA International Stadium.

• However, due to the COVID-19 case in the Delhi Capitals camp, the two matches were shifted from MCA International Stadium in Pune.

• The match on 20 April 2022 was shifted to Brabourne Stadium and the match on 22 April 2022 was shifted to Wankhede Stadium.

• The final match between Rajasthan Royals and Gujarat Titans was held at the Narendra Modi Stadium in Ahmedabad.

IPL 2022 Winner List

Here are the most important awards and honours of the Indian Premier League 2022

☞ IPL 2022 champions ✍ Gujarat Titans
☞ Emerging player of the season ✍ Umran Malik (Team: Sunrisers Hyderabad)
☞ Power player of the season ✍ Jos Buttler

☞ IPL 2022 Maximum Sixes Award ✍ Jos Buttler
• Team: Rajasthan Royals
• Total number of sixes: 45

☞ Purple cap ✍ Yuzvendra Chahal
• Total wickets: 27
• Team: Rajasthan Royals
• The Purple cap in the Indian Premier League was introduced on 13 May 2008.
• It is presented to the leading wicket-taker in the IPL.

IPL 2022
IPL 2022 Purple Cap Winner: Yuzvendra Chahal (Image source: Twitter)

☞ Orange cap ✍ Jos Buttler
• Total Runs: 863
• Team: Rajasthan Royals
• The Orange cap in IPL was introduced on 25 April 2008.
• It is given to the player with the most number of runs in the Indian Premier League

IPL 2022
IPL 2022 Orange Cap Winner: Josh Buttler (Image source: Twitter)

☞ Upstox Most Valuable Player ✍ Jos Buttler
☞ Super Striker of the Season ✍ Dinesh Karthik (Team: RCB / Strike Rate: 200)
☞ Paytm Fairplay award ✍ Rajasthan Royals

Player of the Match (RR Vs GT): Hardik Pandiya
• Runs: 34
• Strike Rate: 113.33
• Wickets:3
• Economy Rate: 4.25

IPL 2022
IPL 2022 Player of the Final Match (RR Vs GT): Hardik Pandiya

Top 5 Fantasy Players of the #TATAIPL 2022 Season

  1. Jos Buttler ( RR – 1468 pts)
  2. Hardik Pandiya (GT-1070 pts)
  3. K L Rahul (LSG – 1043 pts)
  4. Andre Russell(KKR- 1028 pts)
  5. Wanindu Hasaranga (RCB – 1000 pts)
IPL 2022
Top 5 Fantasy Players of the #TATAIPL 2022 Season

IPL Winners List from 2008-2022

☞ The team that has won the most IPL titles is Mumbai Indians (5 times | 2013, 2015, 2017, 2019, 2020)

☞ The second highest IPL title-winning team is Chennai Super Kings. (4 times |2010, 2011, 2018, 2021)

EditionYearIPL Winners
12008Rajasthan Royals
22009Deccan Chargers
32010Chennai Super Kings
42011Chennai Super Kings
52012Kolkata Knight Riders
62013Mumbai Indians
72014Kolkata Knight Riders
82015Mumbai Indians
92016Sunrisers Hyderabad
102017Mumbai Indians
112018Chennai Super Kings
122019Mumbai Indians
132020Mumbai Indians
142021Chennai Super Kings
152022Gujarat Titans

IPL 2022 Final, GT vs RR Highlights

• Gujarat Titans have won their first IPL title this season 15.
• They beat Rajasthan Royals at the Narendra Modi Stadium in Ahmedabad.

• Rajasthan Royals(RR) have won the toss and skipper Sanju Samson has elected to bat.
• Rajasthan Royals(RR) scored 130 runs in 20 overs and gave Gujarat a target of 131 runs to win.

• Gujarat Titans(GT) chased down the target with seven wickets and 11 balls to spare.

• Shubman Gill scored an unbeaten 45 and David Miller scored 32 off 19 balls.

• Joss Butler of Rajasthan Royals scored 39 off 35 balls.

About Board of Control for Cricket in India (BCCI)

• The Board of Control for Cricket in India (BCCI) is the governing body for cricket in India and is under the jurisdiction of the Ministry of Youth Affairs and Sports, Government of India.
• The Indian Premier League was founded by the Board of Control for Cricket in India (BCCI) in 2007.

• Founded – in 1928
• Headquarters – Wankhede Stadium
• Location – Mumbai, Maharashtra, India
• President – Sourav Ganguly
• Vice president(s) – Rajeev Shukla
• Secretary – Jay Shah

Sharing is caring!

Leave a Comment