IPL 2024 Awards List with Key Details: Complete List

Rate this post

The IPL 2024 final saw an exciting match where the Kolkata Knight Riders (KKR) emerged victorious against Sunrisers Hyderabad (SRH). The final was held on May 26, 2024, at the M.A. Chidambaram Stadium in Chennai.

KKR, led by their captain Shreyas Iyer, managed to secure the title with a standout performance. Pat Cummins, the captain of SRH, could not lead his team to victory despite their strong showing throughout the season.

โœ… Also Read: IPL Winners List From 2008 to 2024 With Captain, Man of the Match, Man of the Series, and more GK Facts

IPL 2024 Awards List

The Indian Premier League (IPL) is one of the most popular and exciting Twenty20 cricket leagues in the world. The 2024 season witnessed intense battles, outstanding performances, and thrilling matches. Here are some of the notable highlights::

Champions: Kolkata Knight Riders (KKR)

  • KKR emerged victorious by defeating Sunrisers Hyderabad (SRH) in the final.
  • This victory marked KKRโ€™s third IPL title (2012, 20214, and 2024), solidifying their position as a dominant force in the league.

Final Match Details

  • Date: May 26, 2024
  • Venue: MA Chidambaram Stadium, Chennai
  • Toss: SRH won the toss and chose to bat first.
  • Inning 1 (SRH): SRH scored 113 runs for 10 wickets in 18.3 overs.
  • Inning 2 (KKR): KKR chased down the target, scoring 114 runs for 2 wickets in 10.3 overs.
  • Player of the Match: Mitchell Starc (KKR) for his impressive bowling performance.

Top Performers

Leading Run Scorers

  • Virat Kohli (741 runs)
  • Ruturaj Gaikwad (583 runs)
  • Riyan Parag (573 runs)
  • Travis Head (567 runs)
  • Sanju Samson (531 runs)

Highest Wicket Takers

  • Harshal Patel (24 wickets)
  • Varun Chakaravarthy (21 wickets)
  • Jasprit Bumrah (20 wickets)
  • T Natarajan (19 wickets)
  • Harshit Rana (19 wickets)

Most Sixes

  • Abhishek Sharma (42 sixes)
  • Virat Kohli (38 sixes)
  • Heinrich Klaasen (38 sixes)
  • Nicholas Pooran (36 sixes)
  • Sunil Narine (33 sixes)

Highest Individual Scores

  • Marcus Stoinis (124*)
  • Virat Kohli (113*)
  • Sunil Narine (109)
  • Jonny Bairstow (108*)
  • Ruturaj Gaikwad (108*)

Man of the Match

  • For the final match, the Man of the Match was awarded to Andre Russell from KKR for his exceptional all-round performance. Russell’s contributions were pivotal, both with the bat and ball, which helped KKR clinch the title.

Most Valuable Player (MVP) of the season

  • Sunil Narine was named the Most Valuable Player of the season. Narine showcased his all-round abilities by scoring 488 runs at a strike rate of 179.85 and taking 17 wickets at an economy rate of 6.69โ€‹.

Points Table

  • KKR topped the points table with 20 points and a net run rate (NRR) of +1.428.
  • SRH finished second with 17 points and a NRR of +0.414.

Prize Money

  • KKR received INR 20 crore for winning the title, while SRH earned INR 13 crore as runners-up.

In summary, IPL 2024 showcased thrilling cricket, outstanding individual performances, and KKRโ€™s triumphant journey to their third championship. Cricket fans around the world eagerly await each IPL season, and this year was no exception!.

Additional Key Details

  • Seven Indian players have been on the Purple Cap Winners List in the history of IPL. They are:
  1. RP Singh (2009)
  2. Pragyan Ojha (2010)
  3. Mohit Sharma (2014)
  4. Bhuvneshwar Kumar (2016 and 2017)
  5. Harshal Patel (2021, 2024)
  6. Yuzvendra Chahal (2022)
  7. Mohammed Shami (2023)
  8. Harshal Patel (2024)
  • Harshal Patel becomes the second Indian to win the Purple Cap twice in IPL history.
  • Varun Chakravarthy (21 wickets) and Jasprit Bumrah (20 wickets) were the only other bowlers to reach the 20-wicket mark this season.
  • Sunil Narine is the only player to have won the MVP award in two consecutive seasons (2017 and 2018).
  • Virat Kohli became the first batter with 8,000 IPL runs (8,004).
  • Kohli has become the first Indian to win the Orange Cap twice. 
  • The Hyderabad Cricket Association won the award for pitch and ground.
  • Ramandeep Singh won the accolade for the Catch of the Season for his blinder against Lucknow Super Giants.
  • Rohit Sharma completed 200 matches for Mumbai Indians in the IPL.
  • Sunrisers Hyderabad set a new record for the second-highest innings total in IPL history with 277, breaking Royal Challengers Bengaluru’s previous record of 263.
  • The match between Sunrisers Hyderabad and Royal Challengers Bengaluru set a new record for the highest aggregate score in an IPL match with a total of 549 runs, surpassing the previous record of 523 runs between Sunrisers Hyderabad and Mumbai Indians in 2024.
  • Sunrisers Hyderabad recorded the highest innings total in IPL history with 287 runs.
  • Virat Kohli (Royal Challengers Bengaluru) became the first Indian to reach 12,000 runs in T20s.
  • Virat Kohli also became the first player to score 1,000 runs against Chennai Super Kings in the IPL.

IPL 2024 final: List of all award winners with prize money

Here is the detailed table for the IPL 2024 awards and prizes:

CategoryWinnerPrize Amount
WinnersKolkata Knight RidersINR 20 crores
Runners upSunrisers HyderabadINR 12.5 crores
Orange CapVirat KohliINR 10 lakhs
Purple CapHarshal PatelINR 10 lakhs
Fairplay AwardSunrisers HyderabadINR 10 lakhs
Emerging PlayerNitish ReddyINR 10 lakhs
Man of the Match (Final)Mitchell StarcINR 10 lakhs
Man of the Tournament (MVP)Sunil NarineINR 10 lakhs
Most SixesAbhishek SharmaINR 10 lakhs
Most FoursTravis HeadINR 10 lakhs
Super Striker of the SeasonJake Fraser-McGurkINR 10 lakhs
Best Catch of the SeasonRamandeep SinghINR 10 lakhs
Fantasy Player of the SeasonSunil NarineINR 10 lakhs
Pitch and Ground Staff AwardHyderabad Cricket AssociationINR 50 lakhs

IPL 2024 in a Nutshell

Dates22 March โ€“ 26 May 2024
Administrator(s)Board of Control for Cricket in India (BCCI)
Cricket formatTwenty20
Tournament format(s)Group stage and playoffs
ChampionsKolkata Knight Riders (3rd title)
Runners-upSunrisers Hyderabad
Attendance3,117,546 (42,129 per match)
Most valuable playerSunil Narine (Kolkata Knight Riders)
Most runsVirat Kohli (Royal Challengers Bengaluru) (741)
Most wicketsHarshal Patel (Punjab Kings) (24)

More Sports Current Affairs:

Share This:

As a professional blogger and passionate educator, I am driven by a deep-seated desire to share knowledge and empower others. With years of experience in the field, I am committed to providing valuable insights and guidance to aspiring learners. My passion lies in helping individuals discover their potential and achieve their goals. I am also a firm believer in the power of motivation and strive to inspire others to pursue their dreams with unwavering determination.

Leave a Comment

Ads Blocker Image Powered by Code Help Pro

Ads Blocker Detected!!!

We have detected that you are using extensions to block ads. Please support us by disabling these ads blocker.

Powered By
100% Free SEO Tools - Tool Kits PRO