List of Chief Ministers and Governors of India 2022

Share On Your Social Media

In the general awareness or general knowledge section of the upcoming Raiway exams including RRB NTPC CBT 2 , RRB NTPC group D and SSC exams including SSC CHSL, you can expect questions from the topic “list of Chief Ministers and Governors of India”.

It is also extremely important for all other competitive exams like, IBPS PO, Clerk, SBI PO, Clerk, Insurance Exams, RBI Grade B exam and state PSCs exams.

If you remember this table thoroughly as it will enable you to fetch 2-3 marks very easily. Just revise the table consistently. It will allow you to retain these names when they are asked in the exam.

In the table below, we have listed down the current Chief ministers and governors of all Indian states and union territories of the year 2022.  At present India has 28 states and 8 Union Territories.

At the end of the table, we provide some important facts about Chief Ministers of India. 

A brief Introduction about the number of States and Union Territories of India

◘ Currently It consists of 28 states and 8 union territories.

◘ Previously India has 29 states and 7 Union Territories.

◘ Newly formed state- Telangana.
• Telangana formed on 2 June 2014, the area was separated from the northwestern part of Andhra Pradesh.

◘ Newly formed Union Territories are – Ladakh and Jammu & Kashmir.

◘ Until 2019, Ladakh was a region of the Indian-administered state of Jammu and Kashmir.

◘ On August 2019, the Parliament of India passed an act by which Ladakh became a union territory on 31 October 2019.

◘ Dadra and Nagar Haveli and Daman and Diu are a union territory in western India.

◘ It was formed by the merger of the former union territories of Dadra and Nagar Haveli and Daman and Diu.

◘ The territory is made up of four separate geographical entities Dadra, Nagar Haveli, Daman and the island of Diu.

List of current chief ministers and governors of India (updated)

◘ According to the constitution of India, the governor is the nominal executive authority (de jure executive) and the Chief Minister is the real executive authority (de facto executive).

◘ According to the Constitution of India, at the state-level, the governor is de jure head, but de facto executive authority rests with the chief minister.

◘ The governor appoints the chief minister, whose council of ministers is collectively responsible to the assembly.

◘ The chief minister’s term is usually for a maximum of five years; there are no limits to the number of terms they can serve.

In the below table, we provided the recent cm and governor list. 

State Chief Minister Governor
1. Andhra Pradesh YS Jagan Mohan Reddy Biswa Bhusan Harichandan
2. Arunachal Pradesh Pema Khandu Brig. (Dr.) B. D. Mishra (Retd.)
3. Assam  Himanta Biswa Sarma Jagdish Mukhi
4. Bihar  Nitish Kumar Phagu Chauhan
5. Chhattisgarh  Bhupesh Baghel Anusuiya Uikey
6. Goa Pramod Sawant P.S. Sreedharan Pillai
7. Gujarat Bhupendrabhai Patel Acharya Dev Vrat
8. Haryana  Manohar Lal Bandaru Dattatraya
9. Himachal Pradesh  Jairam Thakur Rajendra Vishwanath Arlekar
10. Jharkhand  Hemant Soren Ramesh Bais
11. Karnataka Basavaraj Bommai Thaawarchand Gehlot
12. Kerala  Pinarayi Vijayan Arif Mohammed Khan
13. Madhya Pradesh  Shivraj Singh Chouhan Mangubhai Chhaganbhai Patel
14. Maharashtra  Uddhav Thackeray Bhagat Singh Koshyari
15. Manipur  N. Biren Singh La Ganesan
16. Meghalaya  Conrad Kongkal Sangma Satya Pal Malik
17. Mizoram  Pu Zoramthanga Hari Babu Kambhampati
18. Nagaland  Neiphiu Rio Jagdish Mukhi
19. Odisha  Naveen Patnaik Ganeshi Lal
20. Punjab Bhagwant Mann Banwarilal Purohit
21. Rajasthan  Ashok Gehlot Kalraj Mishra
22. Sikkim  PS Golay Ganga Prasad
23. Tamil Nadu  M. K. Stalin R. N. Ravi
24. Telangana  K Chandrasekhar Rao Tamilisai Soundararajan
25. Tripura  Biplab Kumar Deb Satyadeo Narain Arya
26. Uttar Pradesh  Yogi Aditya Nath Anandiben Patel
27. Uttarakhand  Pushkar Sing Dhami Gurmit Singh
28.West Bengal  Mamata Banerjee Jagdeep Dhankhar

Also See States and union territories of India

Union Territory Lt. Governor & Administrator
1. Andaman and Nicobar Island (UT) Admiral D K Joshi (Lieutenant Governor)
2. Chandigarh (UT) Banwarilal Purohit (Administrator)
3. Dadra and Nagar Haveli and Daman and Diu (UT) Shri Praful Patel (Administrator)
4. Delhi (NCT) Shri Anil Baijal (Lieutenant Governor)
Arvind Kejriwal (Chief Minister)
5. Jammu and Kashmir (UT) Shri Manoj Sinha (Lieutenant Governor)
6. Lakshadweep (UT) Shri Praful Patel (Administrator)
7. Puducherry (UT) Dr. Tamilisai Soundararajan (Addl. Charge) (Lieutenant Governor)
N. Rangaswamy (Chief Minister)
8. Ladakh (UT) Shri Radha Krishna Mathur (Lieutenant Governor)

Important questions and answers regarding Chief Ministers and Governors of India

1. Oldest Chief minister by age, serving any state in India?
Answer: Captain Amarinder Singh
• 15th and current Chief Minister of Punjab.
• Constituency – Patiala

2. Who was the longest-serving female chief minister of India?
Answer: Sheila Dikshit
• She served as the chief minister of the National Capital Territory of Delhi.

3. Youngest chief minister by age, serving any state in India?
Answer: Pema Khandu, Chief Minister of Arunachal Pradesh

4. Top 4 Longest-serving Indian chief ministers.
♦ 1. Pawan Kumar Chamling – Sikkim – 24 years
♦ 2. Jyoti Basu – West Bengal – 23 years
♦ 3. Gegong Apang – Arunachal Pradesh – 22 years
♦ 4. Naveen Patnaik – Odisha – 21 years

5. Chief minister with longest incumbency?
Answer: Naveen Patnaik – Odisha – 21 years

6. First woman Chief Minister of India?
Answer: Sucheta Kripalani – CM of Uttar Pradesh

7. First Chief Minister of India ?
Answer: Govind Ballabh Pant – CM of Uttar Pradesh

8. Youngest chief minister of any Union Territory of India?
Answer: M. O. Hasan Farook Maricar
• Youngest CM of – Pondicherry (Now Puducherry)

9. Youngest chief minister of any Union Territory as well as any states of India?
Answer: M. O. Hasan Farook Maricar
• Youngest CM of – Pondicherry (Now Puducherry)

10. The first Muslim woman to become the Chief Minister of any state of India?
Answer: Anwara Taimur
• Chief Minister of Assam (1980 to June 30, 1981)

11. The only woman Chief Minister to have remained in office for a short tenure of 23 days is?
Answer: Janaki Ramachandran
• Political Party – AIADMK
• State – Tamil Nadu

12. Who is the only incumbent female chief minister in India ?
Answer: Mamata Banerjee
• Chief minister of West Bengal
• Political party – All India Trinamool Congress (AITC)

13. First female chief minister to die in the office?
Answer: J. Jayalalithaa
• Political Party – AIADMK
• State – Tamil Nadu

14. Who was the India’s 18th and Goa’s second chief minister to die in office>?
Answer: Manohar Parrikar

15. Who was the first Dalit Chief Minister of any Indian state?
Answer: Mayawati
• Political Party – Bahujan Samaj Party (BSP)
• State – Uttar Pradesh

Important Articles related to Chief ministers of India

Article No Subject Matter
163 Council of Ministers to aid and advise the Governor
166 Conduct of business of the Government of a State
167 Duties of Chief Minister as respects the furnishing of information to Governor, etc.

Important Articles related to Governors of India

Article No Subject Matter
153 Governors of states
155 Appointment of Governor
156 Term of office of Governor
157 Qualifications for appointment as Governor
159 Oath or affirmation by the Governor
161 Power of the Governor to grant pardons and others
163 Council of ministers to aid and advise the Governor
213 Power of Governor to promulgate ordinances

Share On Your Social Media

3 thoughts on “List of Chief Ministers and Governors of India 2022”

Leave a comment

Ads Blocker Image Powered by Code Help Pro

Ads Blocker Detected!!!

We have detected that you are using extensions to block ads. Please support us by disabling these ads blocker.

Powered By
CHP Adblock Detector Plugin | Codehelppro