Purple Cap in IPL 2023: Purple Cap in IPL List 2008-2022 Complete Info

Rate this post

In this article, we bring to you the complete Purple Cap in IPL List of winners from 2008 to 2022. The Purple Cap is awarded to the bowler with the most number of wickets in a single IPL season, and it is one of the most coveted individual awards in the tournament. By checking out this comprehensive list of Purple Cap winners, you can get all the stats and details of the IPL’s top-performing bowlers over the years.

The Indian Premier League (IPL) is one of the most highly regarded professional Twenty20 cricket leagues in the world, featuring top-class players from across the globe. The Purple Cap, awarded to the bowler with the most wickets in the tournament, is a highly sought-after accolade that signifies a player’s vital contribution to their team’s success.

The IPL’s 16th season is set to commence on March 31st, with ten teams battling for supremacy. The Purple Cap was first introduced in the inaugural IPL season in 2008 and has since become an emblem of excellence in bowling performance.

The 16th edition of the Indian Premier League (IPL) is scheduled to commence on March 31st, featuring the opening game in Ahmedabad between defending champions Gujarat Titans and four-time title holders Chennai Super Kings.

Purple Cap Holder in the 2023 IPL

Mohammed Shami, a seamer for Gujarat Titans, emerged as the leading wicket-taker of the season with 28 wickets at an economy rate of 8.03.

▪ Rashid Khan and Mohit Sharma, Shami’s teammates, closely followed with 27 wickets each. Mohit Sharma had the better economy rate of the two, standing at 8.17. Together, the three bowlers accounted for a remarkable 83 wickets.

▪ Piyush Chawla, a legspinner for Mumbai Indians, secured the fourth spot with 22 wickets from 16 games.

▪ Yuzvendra Chahal of Rajasthan Royals and Tushar Deshpande of CSK shared the fifth position, both claiming 21 wickets.

▪ Varun Chakravarthy of KKR and Ravindra Jadeja of CSK were tied with 20 wickets each.

▪ Matheesha Pathirana of CSK and Mohammed Siraj of RCB were tied with 19 wickets. Notably, Siraj boasted the most economical performance among the top ten bowlers, with an economy rate of 7.50 runs per over.

▪ Throughout the season, four five-wicket hauls were achieved by Mark Wood (LSG fast bowler), Bhuvneshwar Kumar (SRH), Akash Madhwal (Mumbai Indians), and Mohit Sharma (Titans) in the Qualifier against Mumbai.

Purple Cap Holder (IPL-2022)

▪ The Purple Cap is awarded to the bowler with the most wickets in a season. Yuzvendra Chahal of Rajasthan Royals won the Purple Cap in 2022 by claiming 27 wickets.

▪ During a high-scoring match against Kolkata Knight Riders, the Indian leg-spinner’s excellent bowling figures of 5 for 40 helped his team secure a seven-run victory.

Purple Cap in IPL List 2008 -2023 | IPL Purple Cap Winners List

▪ Here’s a list of the Purple Cap winners season-wise in IPL history from 2008 to 2023.

YearPlayerTeamMatchesWicketsAverageStrike rateEconomyBBI
2023YMohammad ShamiGT172818.6413.928.03
2022Yuzvendra ChahalRR172719.5115.117.755/40
2021Harshal PatelRCB153214.3410.568.145/27
2020Kagiso RabadaDC173018.2613.308.344/24
2019Imran TahirCSK172616.5714.846.694/12
2018Andrew TyeKXIP142418.6614.008.004/16
2017Bhuvneshwar KumarSRH142614.1912.007.055/19
2016Bhuvneshwar KumarSRH172321.3017.207.424/29
2015Dwayne BravoCSK172616.3812.008.143/22
2014Mohit SharmaCSK162319.6514.008.394/14
2013Dwayne BravoCSK183215.5311.707.954/42
2012Morne MorkelDD162518.1215.107.194/20
2011Lasith MalingaMI162813.3913.505.955/13
2010Pragyan OjhaDC162120.4216.807.293/26
2009RP SinghDC162318.1315.506.984/22
2008Sohail TanvirRR112212.0911.226.466/14

Rules for IPL Purple Cap

▪ The IPL Purple Cap is a prestigious accolade presented to the bowler who claims the most wickets in the Indian Premier League tournament. The Purple Cap is awarded according to the following rules:

☛ The bowler with the most wickets in the tournament is awarded the Purple Cap.

☛ If two or more bowlers have the same number of wickets, the player with a lower economy rate is awarded the Purple Cap.

☛ If there is a tie in both wickets taken and economy rate, the player with a better bowling average is awarded the Purple Cap.

☛ In the case of a further tie, the player who has bowled the fewest overs will be awarded the Purple Cap.

☛ The leading wicket-taker wears the Purple Cap throughout the tournament until another bowler surpasses them in the wicket-taking list.

☛ At the end of the tournament, the winner of the Purple Cap receives a special trophy and a cash prize.

▪ These regulations ensure that the Purple Cap is awarded impartially and accurately to the best-performing bowler in the IPL tournament. It is a highly esteemed honor that recognizes the skill and performance of the bowlers.

IPL 2023 Purple Cap List: Most Wicket Takers List

Here is the IPL 2023 Purple Cap list:

RankPlayerTeamWicketsAverageEconomy Rate
1Mohammed ShamiGujarat Titans2819.717.32
2Yuzvendra ChahalRajasthan Royals2721.307.54
3Kuldeep YadavKolkata Knight Riders2622.577.72
4Avesh KhanLucknow Super Giants2424.048.24
5Harshal PatelRoyal Challengers Bangalore2325.218.15
6Mohit SharmaGujarat Titans2721.707.93
7Rashid KhanGujarat Titans2722.226.78
8T NatarajanSunrisers Hyderabad2423.338.04
9Kuldeep SenRajasthan Royals2223.238.11
10Umesh YadavKolkata Knight Riders2125.008.29

Frequently Asked Questions (FAQs) on IPL Purple Cap

Q1. Who holds the record for the most wickets in the history of IPL?

Answer: Dwayne Bravo holds the record for taking the most wickets in IPL history, which stands at 183. He has played for two teams, the Chennai Super Kings and the Gujarat Lions, during his IPL career.

Q2. Who emerged as the Purple Cap holder in the last IPL season 2023?

Answer: The Purple Cap holder in the last IPL season 2023 is Mohammed Shami of Gujarat Titans. He took 28 wickets in 16 matches at an average of 19.71 and an economy rate of 7.32. He was also the highest wicket-taker in the tournament.

Q3. Is it possible for a player to win the Purple Cap in consecutive IPL seasons?

Answer: Yes, a player can win the Purple Cap in consecutive IPL seasons by taking the highest number of wickets in both seasons.

Q4. How is the Purple Cap awarded in IPL?

Answer: The Purple Cap is presented to the player with the most number of wickets in the Indian Premier League (IPL) tournament.

Q5. How many Indians have won the Purple Cap in IPL?

Answer: Since its inception, only five Indian cricketers have won the Purple Cap in the history of the Indian Premier League (IPL). They are RP Singh (2009), Pragyan Ojha (2010), Mohit Sharma (2014), Bhuvneshwar Kumar (2016 and 2017), and Harshal Patel (2021).

More Sports Current Affairs

Share This:

As a professional blogger and passionate educator, I am driven by a deep-seated desire to share knowledge and empower others. With years of experience in the field, I am committed to providing valuable insights and guidance to aspiring learners. My passion lies in helping individuals discover their potential and achieve their goals. I am also a firm believer in the power of motivation and strive to inspire others to pursue their dreams with unwavering determination.

Leave a Comment

Ads Blocker Image Powered by Code Help Pro

Ads Blocker Detected!!!

We have detected that you are using extensions to block ads. Please support us by disabling these ads blocker.

Powered By
Best Wordpress Adblock Detecting Plugin | CHP Adblock