Redevelopment of 5 railway stations in Tamil Nadu

Redevelopment of 5 railway stations in Tamil Nadu: Know the details here

• Prime Minister Narendra Modi will lay the foundation stone for the reconstruction of five railway stations in Tamil Nadu.

• The five stations are Chennai Egmore, Rameshwaram, Madurai, Katpadi and Kanyakumari.

• It promotes infrastructural development, enhances connectivity and makes life easier in the region.

• Prime Minister Modi will dedicate to the nation and lay the foundation stone of a total of 11 projects worth over Rs 31,500 crore in Chennai.

• This project will be completed at a cost of Rs. 1800 crore, and the aim is to increase the convenience and comfort of the passengers by providing modern facilities.

• The Prime Minister will also lay the foundation stone of a multi-modal logistics park worth about Rs 1430 crores in Chennai. It will provide uninterrupted intermodal freight traffic and also offer multiple functions.

Chennai Egmore station

Redevelopment of 5 railway stations in Tamil Nadu
Chennai Egmore station

• Chennai Egmore station, formerly known as Madras Egmore station, also known as Chennai Elumbur station.

• It is one of the four intercity railway terminals in Tamil Nadu, The other three are Chennai Central Railway Station, Tambaram Railway Station and Chennai Beach Railway Station.

• The station was built in 1906–1908 as the terminus of the South Indian Railway Company. The building, built in Gothic style is one of the prominent landmarks of Chennai.

Rameshwaram Station

Redevelopment of 5 railway stations in Tamil Nadu
Rameshwaram station

• Rameshwaram Railway Station is a railway terminus serving the town of Rameshwaram, which is located on the Rameswaram island in the Raigad district of Tamil Nadu.

• It belongs to the Madurai Railway Division and is an important terminal in the Southern Railway Zone.

• The station connects the pilgrim town and the rest of the island to the mainland via the highly acclaimed Pamban Rail Bridge.

• India’s renowned scientist and former President of India, A. P. J. Abdul Kalam, was born in Rameswaram.

Madurai railway station

Redevelopment of 5 railway stations in Tamil Nadu
Madurai railway station

• Madurai Junction Railway Station is one of the major railway stations in South India and the primary railway station serving the city of Madurai in Tamil Nadu.

• The station is the headquarters of the Madurai railway division of the Southern Railways.

• It is an A1 graded train station by the Indian Railways for being one of the top 100 booking stations in the country.

• The second Tejas Express of the country was flagged of by the Prime Minister on 1 March 2019 between Madurai Junction and Chennai Egmore stations.

• Madurai railway station falls under the southern railway zone.

Katpadi railway station

Redevelopment of 5 railway stations in Tamil Nadu
Katpadi railway station

• Katpadi Junction railway station, also known as Vellore Katpadi Junction railway station.

• It is an A-category junction railway station located in the city of Vellore, Tamil Nadu. It is the primary terminus and junction of Fort City Vellore.

Kanyakumari railway station

Redevelopment of 5 railway stations in Tamil Nadu
Kanyakumari railway station

• Kanyakumari railway station was formerly known as Cape Comorin railway station.

• It is a railway terminus of the Indian Railways serving the coastal city of Kanyakumari in the state of Tamil Nadu.

• The southernmost point of all over the India is Indira Point at the southernmost end of Great Nicobar Island of the Nicobar Islands.

• The southernmost point of Mainland India is Cape Comorin near Kanyakumari.

Image Source: ANI Twitter

Leave a comment

Ads Blocker Image Powered by Code Help Pro

Ads Blocker Detected!!!

We have detected that you are using extensions to block ads. Please support us by disabling these ads blocker.

Powered By
Best Wordpress Adblock Detecting Plugin | CHP Adblock