Railway Zones in India PDF with Headquarters and **Divisions**

gkbooks.in/list-of-railway-zone-and-headquarters

August 28, 2022

Indian Railways are a crucial mode of transportation for the common people in India, as it is the largest Departmental Undertaking in the country. It is a significant employer, with over 1.254 million employees, making it the world's eighth-largest employment **generator**, as per records from March 2020.

It is also the biggest rail network in Asia and the fourth largest in the world, with a route of 67,368 km (41,861 mi) and 7,325 stations, spanning over 126,366 km (78,520 mi) of the track.

Indian Railways operate in 19 zones across India, each of which is further divided into 70 divisions with their respective Divisional Headquarters.

In this article, we will explore some interesting facts about the **railway division in** India, a list of railway zones in India, railway zones, and headquarters. This information is relevant from an examination perspective and can be helpful to anyone looking to gain knowledge about Indian Railways.

How Many Railway Zones in India?

Currently There are a total of 19 zones (including Metro Railway, Kolkata) and 70 Divisions in the Indian Railway System.

The entire operations of Indian Railways are divided into zones. Each zone is further divided into sub-divisions. Each Division has a divisional headquarters.

South Coast Railway zone is the newest zone in India. Visakhapatnam is the regional headquarters of the South Coast Railway zone.

History of Railway Zones in India

Year 2003

• Until 2003 there were only 9 Railway zones in India.

Year 2002-03

• In 2002-03, 7 new railway zones were created, giving a total of 16.

Year 2010

• In 2010, Kolkata Metro Railway was given the status of 17th zone of Indian Railways.

• Additionally, the Konkan Railway has the administrative status of a zone of Indian Railways but is not generally considered a zone for operational purposes.

Year 2019

 \bullet In February 2019, South Coast Railway Zone (SCoR) has been announced as the newest railway zone of the Indian Railways.

List of 19 Railway Zones in India and their Headquarters

SI.No	Railway Zone	Headquarters	Railway Divisions
1.	Central Railway (C.R.)	Mumbai CSMT (Chatrapati Shivaji Termi)	Mumbai, Bhusawal, Pune, Solapur, Nagpur CR
2.	Southern Railway (SR)	Chennai Central	Chennai, Tiruchirappalli, Madurai, Palakkad, Salem, Thiruvananthapuram
3.	Northern Railway (N.R.)	New Delhi	Delhi, Ambala, Firozpur, Lucknow NR, Moradabad
4.	Western Railway (WR)	Church Gate, Mumbai	Mumbai WR, Ratlam, Ahmedabad, Rajkot, Bhavnagar, Vadodara
5.	Eastern Railway (ER)	Kolkata	Howrah, Sealdah, Asansol, Malda
6.	South-Eastern Railway (SER)	Garden Reach, Kolkata	Adra, Chakradharpur, Kharagpur, Ranchi
7.	Kolkata Metro Railway	Kolkata	Not Applicable
8.	South-Central Railway (SCR)	Secunderabad	Secunderabad, Hyderabad, Nanded
9.	North-East Frontier Railway (NEFR)	Maligaon (Guwahati)	Alipurduar, Katihar, Rangiya, Lumding, Tinsukia
10.	North-Eastern Railway (NER)	Gorakhpur	Izzatnagar, Lucknow NER, Varanasi
11.	East-Central Railway (ECR)	Hazipur	Danapur, Dhanbad, Pt Deen Dayal Upadhyaya, Samastipur, Sonpur
12.	North-Western Railway (NWR)	Jaipur	Jaipur, Ajmer, Bikaner, Jodhpur
13.	East-Coast Railway (ECoR)	Bhubaneshwar	Khurda Road, Sambalpur, Rayagada
14.	North-Central Railway (NCR)	Prayagraj (Allahabad)	Prayagraj, Agra, Jhansi
15.	South-Western Railway (SWR)	Hubli	Hubballi, Bengaluru, Mysuru
16.	West-Central Railway (WCR)	Jabalpur	Jabalpur, Bhopal, Kota
17.	South-East Central Railway (SECR)	Bilaspur	Bilaspur, Raipur, Nagpur SEC

18.	Southern Coast Railway (SCoR)	Visakhapatnam	Waltair, Vijayawada, Guntur, Guntakal
19.	Konkan Railway (KR)	Navi Mumbai	Karwar, Ratnagiri

Facts about the Railway Zones in India

- Kolkata has the largest number of railway zones in India.
- Kolkata is the headquarters of the Eastern Zone, South Eastern Zone, and Metro Railway zone Kolkata.
- Northern Railway Zone is the largest railway zone in India.
- Metro Railway, Kolkata became the 17th zone of the Indian Railways.
- Southern Railway zone is the oldest railway zone (created on 14 April 1951) in India.
- South Coast Railway Zone (18th) is the new railway zone of India.

Most Important Questions about Railway Zones in India

Total Railway Zones in India 2023?

Answer: 19 (As of 2023)

The total number of railway zones in India till 2023 is 19. These regions are divided into 70 divisions with respective divisional headquarters.

Which is the largest rail network in the world?

Answer: United States

The United States has the biggest Rail network in the world followed by Russia, China,

and India

When did the first Metro rail come into existence?

Answer: 24 October 1924

The first metro rail in India began in Calcutta, West Bengal. It is known as the Calcutta Metro, now called the Kolkata Metro, and it commenced operations on October 24, 1984.

Who presented the first rail budget of Independent India?

Answer: John Mathai

The first Railway budget for independent India was presented by John Mathai on November 1947. He was the second finance minister of India from 1949-51.

Which Railway Zone is the biggest in India?

Answer: Northern Railway Zone

The Northern Railway Zone is the largest in India with 6968 km of route. The Northern Railway (NR) is headquartered at Baroda House in New Delhi, India. It is divided into five divisions, namely Delhi, Ambala, Firozpur, Lucknow NR, and Moradabad.

Who is the Head of Railway Divisions?

Answer: Divisional Railway Manager (DRM)

The Railway division is headed by a Divisional Railway Manager (DRM) and he reports to the General Manager of that railway zone.

Frequently Asked Questions (FAQ)

Q1. Indian railway is divided into how many zones?

Answer: 19 (Including Konkan and Kolkata Metro Railway Zone)

Q2. Which is the oldest railway zone in India?

Answer: Southern Railway

Q3. Which railway zone is the largest?

Answer: Northern Railways

Q4. Which state has the maximum railway zone?

Answer: Kolkata (3 Railway zones)

Q5. Which is the new railway zone in India?

Answer: South Coast Railway Zone

For PDF, Print this page and save as a PDF Click the "Print This Page Button"