List of FIFA World Cup awards 1930-2018

Sharing is caring!

Rate this post

Here is the list of FIFA World Cup awards list. This article covers the list of FIFA World Cup winners, Golden Boot winners, FIFA World Cup Golden Ball winners, FIFA Young Player Award winners, and Ballon d’Or annual football awards.

Also See, 10 Interesting Facts about FIFA World Cup 2022

FIFA World Cup winners list

Sl. No.YearWinnersHost / Venue
21934ItalyRome, Italy
51954West GermanyBern, Switzerand
61958BrazilSolna, Sweden
71962BrazilSantiago, Chile
81966EnglandLondon, England
91970BrazilMexico city, Mexico
101974West GermanyMunich, West Germany
111978ArgentinaBuenos Aires, Argentina
121982ItalyMadrid, Spain
131986ArgentinaMexico City, Mexico
141990West GermanyRome, Italy
151994BrazilPasadena, United States
161998FranceSaint-Denis, France
172002BrazilYokohama, Japan
182006ItalyBerlin, Germany
192010SpainJohannesburg, South Africa
202014GermanyRio de Janeiro, Brazil
212018FranceMoscow, Russia
222022Lusail, Qatar

FIFA World Cup Golden Boot Award

• The Golden Boot or Golden Shoe award is given to the top goalscorer at the FIFA World Cup.

• Although there is a goal scorer ranking at each World Cup, an award called the Golden Shoe was first awarded in 1982.

• The Golden Shoe Award was renamed as Golden Boot award in 2010.

FIFA World Cup Golden Boot winners list

Sl. No.World CupWinnersCountry
11930 UruguayGuillermo StábileArgentina
21934 ItalyOldřich NejedlýCzechoslovakia
31938 FranceLeônidas de SilvaBrazil
41950 BrazilAdemir de MenezesBrazil
51954 SwitzerlandSándor KocsisHungary
61958 SwedenJust FontaineFrance
71962 ChileFlorian AlbertHungary
Valentin IvanovSoviet Russia
Drazan JerkovicYugoslavia
Leonel SanchezChile
81966 EnglandEusebioPortugal
91970 MexicoGerd MüllerWest Germany
101974 West GermanyGrzegorz LatoPoland
111978 ArgentinaMario KempesArgentina
121982 SpainPaolo RossiItaly
131986 MexicoGary LinekerEngland
141990 ItalySalvatore SchillaciItaly
151994 United States Oleg SalenkoRussia
Hristo Stoichkov[e]Bulgaria
161998 FranceDavor ŠukerCroatia
172002 South Korea/JapanRonaldoBrazil
182006 GermanyMiroslav KloseGermany
192010 South AfricaThomas MüllerGermany
202014 BrazilJames RodríguezColombia
212018 RussiaHarry KaneEngland
222022 Qatar

FIFA World Cup Golden Ball Award

• The Golden Ball is awarded to the best player in each FIFA World Cup final.

• The current award was introduced at the 1982 FIFA World Cup, sponsored by Adidas and France Football.

FIFA World Cup Golden Ball winners list

Sl. No.World CupWinnersCountry
11982 SpainPaolo RossiItaly
21986 MexicoDiego MaradonaArgentina
31990 ItalySalvatore SchillaciItaly
41994 United StatesRomarioBrazil
51998 FranceRonaldoBrazil
62002 South Korea / JapanOliver KahnGermany
72006 GermanyZinedine ZidaneFrance
82010 South AfricaDiego ForlánUruguay
92014 BrazilLionel MessiArgentina
102018 RussiaLuka ModricCroatia
112022 Qatar

FIFA Young Player Award

• The FIFA Young Player Award is given to the best player of the tournament who is at least 21 years of age.

• It was awarded for the first time at the 2006 World Cup in Germany and was given to Lukas Podolski of Germany.

List of FIFA Young Player Award

Sl. No.World CupYoung PlayerCountry
11958 SwedenPeleBrazil
21962 ChileFlorian AlbertHungary
31966 EnglandFranz BeckenbauerWest Germany
41970 MexicoTeofilo CubillasPeru
51974 West GermanyWładysław ŻmudaPoland
61978 ArgentinaAntonio CabriniItaly
71982 SpainManuel AmorosFrance
81986 MexicoEnzo ScifoBelgium
91990 ItalyRobert ProsinečkiYugoslavia
101994 United StatesMarc OvermarsNetherlands
111998 FranceMichael OwenEngland
122002 South Korea/Japan Landon DonovanUnited States
132006 GermanyLukas PodolskiGermany
142010 South AfricaThomas MüllerGermany
152014 BrazilPaul Pogba[France
162018 RussiaKylian MbappeFrance

Ballon d’or annual football award

• The Ballon d’Or is an annual award given to the best performing male player of the previous year as voted by football journalists.

• The award was presented in 1956 by the French news magazine France Football.

Ballon d’or winners highlights

Real Madrid’s Karim Benzemais has been awarded the Ballon d’Or this year (2022).

• Argentine professional footballer Lionel Messi has won the men’s Ballon d’Or award a record seven times, and Portuguese professional footballer Cristiano Ronaldo has won the award five times.

Frequently Asked Questions (FAQ)

Q1. How many ballon d’or does Ronaldo have?

Answer: 5 times
• Portuguese footballer Cristiano Ronaldo has won the award five times.

Q2. How many ballon d’or does messi have?

Answer:7 times
• Lionel Messi (Argentina) has won the men’s Ballon d’Or award a record seven times.

Q3. What award is given to the top scorer of FIFA?

Answer: Golden Boot Award

Q4. Who has the most FIFA World Cup wins?

Answer: Brazil
• Brazil topped the list by winning the title five times since the tournament’s inception in 1930.

Q5. Who is winning the Ballon D’Or 2022?

Answer: French professional footballer Karim Mostafa Benzema

Sharing is caring!

Leave a Comment