What are the 8 Union Territories of India with Capital? 2024 Updates

4.7/5 - (103 votes)

As of 2024, India comprises 28 states and 8 Union Territories. The list of the 8 Union territories of India and their capitals is as follows:

  1. Andaman and Nicobar Islands: Port Blair
  2. Chandigarh: Chandigarh
  3. Dadra and Nagar Haveli and Daman and Diu: Daman
  4. Delhi: New Delhi
  5. Lakshadweep: Kavaratti
  6. Puducherry: Pondicherry
  7. Jammu and Kashmir: Srinagar (Summer) and Jammu (Winter)
  8. Ladakh: Leh
  • On January 26, 2020, Dadra, Nagar Haveli, and Daman & Diu were amalgamated into a single Union Territory.
  • Additionally, Ladakh was established as a distinct Union Territory after being separated from Jammu and Kashmir and designated as a Union Territory.

What are the 8 Union Territories of India with Capital in 2024? (Tabular List)

The following table lists the 8 Union Territories of India with their capital and formation year.

Union Territories of India 2023 List with Capital
SL. No.Union Territories NameFoundation Year Capital City List
1Andaman and Nicobar IslandsNovember 1956Port Blair
2ChandigarhNovember 1966Chandigarh
3Dadra and Nagar Haveli and Daman and DiuJanuary 2020Daman
4Delhi1956New Delhi
5LakshadweepNovember 1956Kavaratti
6PuducherryNovember 1954Pondicherry
7Jammu and KashmirOctober 2019Srinagar (Summer) and Jammu (Winter)
8LadakhOctober 2019Leh

What are Union Territories?

  • A union territory is a distinct region administered by the central government of India, differing from regular states that have their local governments.

Union Territories of India 2024 Updates

  • As of 2024, India comprises 8 Union Territories.
  • Notably, there was a transformation in the status of Jammu & Kashmir, which transitioned from being a state to becoming a distinct Union Territory.
  • Concurrently, Ladakh was established as a separate Union Territory, distinct from Jammu & Kashmir. This significant change was implemented on October 31, 2019.
  • In another development, on January 26, 2020, the Union Territories of “Daman & Diu” and “Dadra and Nagar Haveli” underwent amalgamation, forming a unified Union Territory known as Dadra and Nagar Haveli and Daman & Diu.
  • Therefore, India currently consists of 8 Union Territories and not 9.

8 Union Territories of India in Political Map

8 Union Territories of India
8 Union Territories of India (Photo Credit: Testbook Twitter)

FAQs on Union Territories of India with Capital

Q1. What is the capital of Andaman and Nicobar Islands?

Port Blair is the capital of the Andaman and Nicobar Islands.

Q2: What are the capitals of Jammu and Kashmir?

Jammu and Kashmir have two capitals. Srinagar is the summer capital, while Jammu is the winter capital.

Q3: What is the capital of Puducherry?

Puducherry is the capital of itself. It is located on the Coromandel coast, surrounded by Tamil Nadu and the Bay of Bengal.

Q4: How many Union Territories are there in India?

As of 2024, India has 8 Union Territories. Dadra and Nagar Haveli, along with Daman & Diu, were merged into a single Union Territory on January 26, 2020. Additionally, on October 31, 2019, Jammu and Kashmir was reorganized into a Union Territory, and Ladakh was established as a separate Union Territory.

Q3: What is the capital of Lakshadweep?

Kavaratti serves as the capital of Lakshadweep. Known for its tourist attractions, serene lagoons, and beaches, Kavaratti is approximately 400 km from Kochi, Kerala.

More on Indian Geography:

Share This:

As a professional blogger and passionate educator, I am driven by a deep-seated desire to share knowledge and empower others. With years of experience in the field, I am committed to providing valuable insights and guidance to aspiring learners. My passion lies in helping individuals discover their potential and achieve their goals. I am also a firm believer in the power of motivation and strive to inspire others to pursue their dreams with unwavering determination.

Leave a Comment

Ads Blocker Image Powered by Code Help Pro

Ads Blocker Detected!!!

We have detected that you are using extensions to block ads. Please support us by disabling these ads blocker.

Powered By
Best Wordpress Adblock Detecting Plugin | CHP Adblock