45+ WBCS Prelims 2023 History MCQs With Explanation

Rate this post

Get ready for WBCS Prelims 2024. Practice these 45+ WBCS Prelims 2023 History MCQs with in-depth explanations. Strengthen your historical knowledge and excel in the exam by practicing now!

Explore More MCQs on Indian History

WBCS Prelims 2023 History MCQs Part-1

Q1. Who Observed: “The Congress is, in reality, a civil war without arms?”
A. Lord Dufferin
B. M.A. Jinnah
C. Sir Syed Ahmad Khan
D. Lord Curzon

Answer –C. Sir Syed Ahmad Khan

Q2. Who was the Tenth and Last Guru of the Sikh?
A. Guru Ram Das
B. Guru Hargobind
C. Guru Govind
D. Guru Tegh Bahadur

Answer –Guru Gobind Singh

Q3. The Vaikom Satyagraha was launched in 1924 for
A. Opening the temples to the low castes Hindus
B. Fighting against the exploitation by the landlords
C. Removal of Press restriction
D. Democratization of the administration of Travancore state

Answer –A. Opening the temples to the low castes Hindus

Q4. The first Satyagrahi selected by Mahatma Gandhi to launch the Individual Satyagraha in October 1940, was
A. C. Rajagopalachari
B. Vallabhbhai Patel
C. Dr. Rajendra Prasad
D. J. B. Kripalani

Answer –Correct Answer is Vinoba Bhave

Q5. After the Surat Split in 1907, the second split in the Congress took place in 1918 on the issue of
A. Lucknow Pact
B. Montagu Declaration
C. Election of Mrs. Annie Besant as President of the INC (1917)
D. Both (B) and (C) above

Answer –B. Montagu Declaration

Q6. Which of the following acted as President of the Indian National Congress for six consecutive years?
A. Jawaharlal Nehru
B. Dadabhai Naoroji
C. Abul Kalam Azad
D. Gopal Krishna Gokhale

Answer –C. Abul Kalam Azad

Q7. Who was the last Sultan of Delhi?
A. Firuz-Tughluq
B. Bahlul Khan Lodi
C. Ibrahim Lodi
D. Sikandar Lodi

Answer –C. Ibrahim Lodi

Q8. Who introduced ‘Din-i-Ilahi’?
A. Babur
B. Akbar
C. Jahangir
D. Shahjahan

Answer –B. Akbar

Q9. The Youngest President of the Indian National Congress, who held that office at the age of 35, was
A. Rash Bihari Ghosh
B. Subhas Chandra Bose
C. Abul Kalam Azad
D. Lala Lajpat Rai

Answer –C. Abul Kalam Azad

Q10. After the partition of Bengal, the two new provinces which came into existence were?
A. East Bengal and Bengal
B. East Bengal and West Bengal
C. East Bengal and Assam
D. East Bengal and North Bengal

Answer –A. East Bengal and Bengal

Q11. The leader of the Ghadar Party in Bengal and Orissa was
A. Jatindranath Mukherjee
B. Jatindranath Das
C. Barindra Ghosh
D. M.N. Roy

Answer –Correct Answer is: Lala hardayal

Q12. Name the Chola King who adopted the title of “Gangaikonda”.
A. Rajendra Chola I
B. Rajraj I
C. Rajadhiraj Chola
D. Rajendra Chola II

Answer – A. Rajendra Chola I

Q13. Which Mughal emperor was known as Alamgir I?
A. Akbar
B. Jahangir
C. Aurangzeb
D. Bahadur Shah II

Answer –C. Aurangzeb

Q14. The Nehru Committee Report got a decent burial at the hands of the Congress at the___ __ session of the INC
A. Calcutta
B. Madras
C. Lahore
D. Bombay

Answer –C. Lahore

Q15. Which Mughal emperor granted ‘Farman’ in 1717 to the British East India Company?
A. Bahadur Shah II
B. Shah Alam II
C. Farrukhshiyar
D. Muhammad Shah

Answer –C. Farrukhshiyar

Q16. The word Congress was borrowed from
A. The Congress (Parliament) of the USA
B. North American History, to connote an assembly of people
C. The Congress of Trade Unions
D. The Congress of World Religions at Chicago

Answer –B. North American History, to connote an assembly of people

Q17. Who gave the title of Rani to the Naga women leader Gaidinliu?
A. Subhas Bose
B. Jawaharlal Nehru
C. Thakkar Bapa
D. Mahatma Gandhi

Answer –B. Jawaharlal Nehru

Q18. Name the Chalukya King who defeated Harshavardhana
A. Pulakeshin I
B. Pulakeshin II
C. Mangalesh
D. Kirtivarmana

Answer –B. Pulakeshin II

Q19. Bal Ganghadhar Tilak introduced the Ganapati Festival in 1893. He held the first Shivaji festival in:
A. 1884
B. 1885
C. 1896
D. 1897

Answer –C. 1896

Q20. Name the first newspaper in India
A. Parthenon
B. Digdarshan
C. Bengal Gazette / Hicky’s Gazette / Hicky’s Bengal Gazette
D. Samachar Darpan

Answer –C. Bengal Gazette / Hicky’s Gazette / Hicky’s Bengal Gazette

Q21. Who wrote the book “Amuktamalyada”?
A. Madhabacharya
B. Ramanuj
C. Krishnadevaray
D. Maladhar Basu

Answer –C. Krishnadevaray

Q22. Where was the first Buddhist Council held?
A. Vaisali
B. Pataliputra
C. Rajagriha
D. Malava

Answer –C. Rajagriha

Q23. Who is known as the ‘Parrot of India’?
A. Jimutavahana
B. Al-Beruni
C. Ibn-Batutah
D. Amir Khasru

Answer –D. Amir Khasru

Q24. The historical importance of the second session of the INC held in Calcutta in 1886 was the –
A. There was a merger between the INC and the National Conference.
B. It was presided over by Dadabhai Naoroji
C. The great scholar Rajendra Lal Mitra was the President of its local Reception Committee
D. All of the above

Answer –B. It was presided over by Dadabhai Naoroji

Share This:

As a professional blogger and passionate educator, I am driven by a deep-seated desire to share knowledge and empower others. With years of experience in the field, I am committed to providing valuable insights and guidance to aspiring learners. My passion lies in helping individuals discover their potential and achieve their goals. I am also a firm believer in the power of motivation and strive to inspire others to pursue their dreams with unwavering determination.

Leave a Comment

Ads Blocker Image Powered by Code Help Pro

Ads Blocker Detected!!!

We have detected that you are using extensions to block ads. Please support us by disabling these ads blocker.

Powered By
100% Free SEO Tools - Tool Kits PRO