45+ WBCS Prelims 2023 History MCQs With Explanation

Rate this post

WBCS Prelims 2023 History MCQs Part- 2

Q25. Mahatma Gandhi presided over the Annual Session of Congress only once at
A. Kakinada, 1923
B. Belgaum, 1925
C. Kanpur, 1925
D. Gauhati, 1926

Answer –B. Belgaum, 1925

Q26. Name the Sultan who first organized expeditions to conquer the Deccan.
A. Alauddin Khalji
B. Balban
C. Firuz-Tughluq
D. Md. Bin-Tughlak

Answer –A. Alauddin Khalji

Q27. Name the Sultan of Delhi who first introduced the northwest frontier policy.
A. Iltutmish
B. Balban
C. Raziya
D. Alauddin Khalji

Answer –B. Balban

Q28. Under the rule of which emperor Nalanda University was founded?
A. Samudragupta
B. Chandragupta II
C. Skandagupta
D. Kumaragupta I

Answer –D. Kumaragupta I

Q29. Which state among the ‘Sixteen Mahajanapadas’ was ultimately successful in founding an empire?
A. Koshala
B. Kashi
C. Magadha
D. Panchala

Answer –C. Magadha

Q30. Who was the first historical emperor of India?
A. Dhanananda
B. Chandragupta Mourya
C. Bimbisara
D. Bindusara

Answer –B. Chandragupta Mourya

Q31. The British Committee of the Indian National Congress was started in 1889 under the chairmanship of:
A. Dadabhai Naoroji
B. A.O. Hume
C. W. Digby
D. W. Wedderburn

Answer –D. W. Wedderburn

Q32. Which of the following British Acts envisages the parliamentary system of government in India?
A. Charter Act of 1793
B. Charter Act of 1813
C. Charter Act of 1853
D. Charter Act of 1833

Answer –C. Charter Act of 1853

Q33. Which of the following are known as the Bombay
A. B. G. Tilak, G. K. Gokhale and M. B. Namjoshi
B. Ferozshsh Mehta, K. T. Telang and Badruddin Tyabji
C. B. G. Tilak, G. G. Agarkar and G. H. Deshmukh
D. Dadabhai Naoroji, K.T. Telang and R. G. Bhandarker

Answer –B. Ferozshsh Mehta, K. T. Telang and Badruddin Tyabji

Q34. Where was the capital of Kanishka?
A. Purushpur
B. Jalandhar
C. Kashmir
D. Pataliputra

Answer –A. Purushpur

Q35. A Muslim organization, which proposed during the First World War that Muslims should participate and try to reach an accord with Congress, was
A. Muslim League
B. Ahmadiya Movement
C. Ehrar League
D. Deoband Movement

Answer – A. Muslim League

Q36. Madan Lal Dhingra murdered Curzon Wyllie in London in 1909 as a protest against
A. The indiscriminate arrest of the Ghadarites
B. The inhuman transportation and hanging of Indian Youth
C. The imprisonment of Lal, Bal, and Pal
D. The Partition of Bengal

Answer – B. The inhuman transportation and hanging of Indian Youth

Q37. Who started the Faraizi movement in Bengal?
A. Titumir
B. Kunwar Singh
C. Digambar Biswas
D. Haji Shariyatullah

Answer – D. Haji Shariyatullah

Q38. Who was Mihirkula/Mihirgula?
A. Saka King
B. Kushana King
C. Huna King
D. Pahlava King

Answer –C. Huna King

Q39. Name the King whose achievements were described in the Nanaghat inscription
A. Satakarni I
B. Gautamiputra Satakarni
C. Vashishta Putra Pulamayi
D. Yajnasri Satakarni

Answer – A. Satakarni I

Q40. Dadabhai Naoroji was elected to the British House of Commons as a member of the _
A. Conservative
B. Liberal
C. Labour
D. Labour-Liberal combine

Answer –B. Liberal

Q41. The brain behind the bomb attack on Viceroy Lord Hardinge at Chandni Chowk, Delhi in December 1912, was
A. Rasbehari Bose
B. Bhai Parmanand
C. Sachindranath Sanyal
D. Shohan Lal Pathak

Answer –A. Rasbehari Bose

Q42. Who wrote “Kumarasambhavam”
A. Vishnusharma
B. Dandin
C. Kalidasa
D. Somedeb

Answer – C. Kalidasa

Q43. Who founded a National Society, a National Paper, a National School, and a National Gymnasium and made the word ‘National’ popular in the latter half of the 19th century?
A. Jyotindra Nath Tagore
B. Rajnarayan Bose
C. Nabagopal Mitra
D. Satyendra Nath Tagore

Answer –C. Nabagopal Mitra

Q44. Between whom was the First Battle of Panipat fought in 1526?
A. Bbaur and Ibrahim Lodi
B. Bbaur and Rana Sanga
C. Babur and Sher Khan
D. Akbar and Himu

Answer –A. Bbaur and Ibrahim Lodi

Q45. Who built the Adina Mosque of Pandua?
A. Firuz-Tughlaq
B. Husain Shah
C. Sikandar Shah
D. Jain-ul-Abedin

Answer –C. Sikandar Shah

Q46. Who founded the Aligarh Anglo-oriental college?
A. Nawab Salimullah
B. Liaqat Ali
C. Khan Abdul Ghaffar Khan
D. Sir Syed Ahmed Khan

Answer –D. Sir Syed Ahmed Khan

Q47. Which of the following factors caused the greatest racial cleavage in India before the foundation of the Indian National Congress?
A. The Ilbert Bill Controversy
B. The reductions of age for entry to the Civil Services
C. The Arms Act of 1878
D. The Vernacular Press Act

Answer –A. The Ilbert Bill Controversy

Q48. A Public Service Commission was established in India for the first time by
A. The Indian Council Act, 1982
B. The Act of 1909
C. The Government of India Act, 1919
D. The Government of India Act, 1935

Answer –C. The Government of India Act, 1919

Q49. Where did Chandragupta II establish his second capital?
A. Bidisha
B. Malava
C. Valabhi
D. Ujjayini

Answer –D. Ujjayini

Q50. Bal Gangadhar Tilak was given the epithet of ‘Lokmanya’ (Universally Respected) during
A. Swadeshi Movement
B. Revolutionary movement
C. Home Rule movement
D. His imprisonment in 1908

Answer –C. Home Rule movement

Practice More MCQs:

Share This:

As a professional blogger and passionate educator, I am driven by a deep-seated desire to share knowledge and empower others. With years of experience in the field, I am committed to providing valuable insights and guidance to aspiring learners. My passion lies in helping individuals discover their potential and achieve their goals. I am also a firm believer in the power of motivation and strive to inspire others to pursue their dreams with unwavering determination.

Leave a Comment

Ads Blocker Image Powered by Code Help Pro

Ads Blocker Detected!!!

We have detected that you are using extensions to block ads. Please support us by disabling these ads blocker.

Powered By
Best Wordpress Adblock Detecting Plugin | CHP Adblock